You are currently viewing Devotion to remind us of the painful path Jesus took to Calvary for all of us

Devotion to remind us of the painful path Jesus took to Calvary for all of us

FEB 27, 2021: Stations of the Cross is a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ’s last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ’s last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete.

The Stations of the Cross are commonly found in churches as a series of 14 small icons or images. They can also appear in church yards arranged along paths. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred. (Taken from Catholic Online.)

All the 14 devotions or specific events are depicted here in this beautiful illustrations that depict clearly how our Saviour suffered for our sins.

Dr Melanie Yeoh, a medical doctor and cartoonist drew these images and they were digital coloured by AGG so you can do the Stations of the Cross on your own. (You will find the more comics by Dr Yeoh here.)

Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death

Station 2: Jesus takes up His Cross

Station 3: Jesus falls for the first time

Station 4: Jesus meets His mother

Station 5: Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the Cross

Station 6: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

Station 7: Jesus falls for the second time

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station 9: Jesus falls for the third time

Station 10: Jesus is stripped off his garments (sometimes called the Division of Robes)

Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the Cross

Station 12: Jesus died on the Cross

Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the Cross

Station 1: Jesus is laid in the tomb

This map of old Jerusalem shows the spots where these 14 events took place.

Here’s a video you can also follow to know more about the Stations of the Cross and to do the devotion.